Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#36937 - 01/20/14 06:39 PM Eleven Rack and S/PDIF question?
BMoe Offline

Helllo All

I'm fairly new to the ER,sorry for that, took me awhile to get one.

I am using a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, connecting two SPDIF cables between the ER and Saffire (yes, in to out ,out to in) also using Mac Pro with Pro Tools 10 and 11.

It sounds pretty bright and weak when using SPDIF.
Could this be a weak cable I'm using a pretty thin one along with a thicker one.
Both are SPDIF cables.

Also, The Eleven Rack sounds great when using the Output To Amp into one of
the pre's on the Saffire, but can't record this way, both dry and wet as far as I know.

I would like to use the SPDIF since its stays in the digital domain. but just to weak sounding to my ears.

Any suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks
BMoe

#36941 - 01/20/14 09:41 PM Re: Eleven Rack and S/PDIF question? [Re: BMoe]
noguud Offline
advanced member

Loc: FL
I don't think you are noticing a weak cable issue as S/PDIF is digital. It either makes it or it doesn't. I use S/PDIF out into a Lexicon Omega then to monitors. It is a bit brighter sounding than using the analog XLR outputs, but with the Omega you listen through its DACs, and that could be some of my differences. I think the same could be true for you?

Anyway, as far as being weaker, there are a couple of settings you could probably check. First, make sure your digital outputs (left and right) are your stereo rig. There is an option where left is rig output and right is the input (to be used later for re-amping) which might sound weaker I guess. The second thing to check is what the digital output uses, I have mine set to be a copy of the analog XLR output.

For the output to amp, you can use outputs 1&2 with separate tap points in your rig. So you can probably do wet and dry using both if you set it up properly. I have done this once and it worked ok for me.

Good luck