So how do you do it?

Posted by: sable904

So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 05:41 AM

Being a newbie, I was wondering how you lay your tracks for recording? Like do you do guitars first then add bass then drums then vocal? Any insight appreciated. Thanks
Posted by: Ping

Re: So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 08:25 AM

Are you recording a cover song, or composing?

If I am recording a cover song, I'll set tempo; find some drums midi grooves for the song (I use Easy Drummer or Slate Drums 4); record bass; guitars; vocals; some keyboard if needed.

If I am recording some song I created, I'll set tempo; record guitar riff or bass grove to that tempo; find some drums groove; record vocals/keys.

If I am looking for some inspiration, I'll choose some drums midi grooves and try to create a nice bass groove. Guitar riffs will come later in this case.

Well, those are some ideas. I bought an Epiphone acoustic guitar, and I'll try some song composition with it, but nowadays I'm more of guitar riff "composer". grin

If you are starting, I suggest recording some basic cover songs. It's a lot of fun recording/mixing!! I am a hobbyist and sometimes spend hours and hours playing with Pro Tools and Eleven Rack.

Cheers
Posted by: lespauled

Re: So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 08:54 AM

I usually start with some drum loops, then bass. Get a solid foundation of those 2 parts. I then take time to set markers of all transitions, so I don't mistakenly play a part past the transition. Then I usually play the guitar parts. Then comes the rest.

Re: So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 10:14 AM

Thanks so much.

Re: So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 10:15 AM

Thanks so much. I appreciate the input.
Posted by: Ichil

Re: So how do you do it? - 04/26/15 02:51 PM

First I set the tempo and I record the guitar riffs with methronome on.
Then I create the drums parts and re-record the guitar parts that aren't in sync with the drums.
Then come bass and vocals.
Posted by: jaminjimlp